<< Back to Posters

PRESENTATION INFO


'Introducing iUTAH’s Gradient Along Mountain to Urban Transitions (GAMUT) Network'
Joseph Crawford (joecrawford22@yahoo.com), Brigham Young University; Chris Cox (chris.cox@usu.edu), Utah State University; David Eiriksson (dave.eiriksson@utah.edu), University of Utah; Zachary Aanderud (zachary_aanderud@byu.edu), Brigham Young University; Scott Jones (scott.jones@usu.edu), Utah State University; David Bowling (david.bowling@utah.edu), University of Utah; Jobie Carlisle (jobie@usu.edu), Utah State University; Michelle Baker (michelle.baker@usu.edu), Utah State University



The iUTAH project, funded by the National Science Foundation EPSCoR program, is a statewide effort that will research the short and long term impacts of population increase, land usage and climate change on Utah's water resources and the sustainability of natural and urban systems. iUTAH is an interdisciplinary project involving, Brigham Young University, Utah State University, the University of Utah, and several primarily undergraduate universities, as well as government agencies, and industry and non-profit partners. This interdisciplinary relationship will allow for research and educational opportunities for students and faculty from kindergarten through postgraduate school. To implement the iUTAH project this coming spring and summer we are developing on-site, real-time networks evaluating water quality and water quantity. These, gradient along mountain to urban transitions (GAMUT) networks will be located in three watersheds in Northern UT (i.e., the upper and middle Provo in the Heber Valley, Red Butte Creek in Salt Lake City, and the Logan River in Cache Valley). These GAMUT stations will include a climate monitoring terrestrial station and an aquatic station. The climate stations will measure solar radiation, precipitation, snow depth, evapotranspiration, and other climate parameters. The aquatic monitoring stations will measure dissolved oxygen, pH, turbidity, nitrate and other aquatic factors. GAMUT will enhance Utah’s ability to monitor and understand the sustainability of natural and urban systems currently undergoing rapid changes due to anthropogenic and natural sources.