DETAILED AGENDA

Abstract Details

<< Back to Schedule

5/16/2017  |   1:30 PM - 1:55 PM   |  2

Specific heat Capacity Measurements of Building Materials and Insulations by the Heat Flow Meter Method

The specific heat capacity is an important parameter used in the design, modeling and performance evaluation of various systems which include building materials and insulations. Due to their in-homogenous or laminated structure, the specific heat capacity of many building materials and insulations can be difficult or impractical to measure by common methods such as differential scanning calorimetry (DSC). The DSC method typically requires a very small, homogeneous sample volume with a mass on the order of milligrams. For example, a laminated insulation product could be tens of millimeters thick and include combinations of fiber, polymer or metallic foils bonded together, making preparation of a DSC sample representative of the product difficult. The Heat Flow Meter (HFM) method (standard test method ASTM C518) is widely used to measure steady-state thermal conductivity and thermal resistance of building materials and insulations for quality control and research and development. When operated in a dynamic mode with parallel (hot and cold face) step heating, the HFM can also be used to measure the material specific or volumetric heat capacity as well as latent heat storage in the case of composites incorporating phase change materials, as described in a recently developed test method ASTM C1784-14. This work will describe a new, commercially available HFM with hardware and software optimized for both thermal conductivity and specific heat measurements. Measurement results for various insulations as well as homogeneous materials will be presented and compared to DSC measurements and literature in selected cases.

Presentation:
This presentation has not yet been uploaded.

Handouts:
No handouts have been uploaded.

Robert Campbell (POC,Primary Presenter,Author), Netzsch Instruments, robert.campbell@netzsch.com;
Marc-Antoine Thermitus (Co-Author), Netzsch Instruments, marc-antoine.thermitus@netzsch.com;
Bradford Hammond (Co-Author), Netzsch Instruments, bradford.hammond@netzsch.com;
Jean-Francois Mauger (Co-Author), Netzsch Instruments, jean-francois.mauger@netzsch.com;
Alex Khait (Co-Author), Netzsch Instruments, alex.khait@netzsch.com;
Samuel Jewett (Co-Author), Netzsch Instruments, samuel.jewett@netzsch.com;






Contact Us